Exchange District (next to hotel)
This walk through downtown Winnipeg can be either self-guided or arranged by tour (see tour section for further details). It is recommended that pedestrians make use of the Winnipeg Visitor’s Guideon the Exchange District National Historic Site (see Winnipeg brochure rack at the Explore Manitoba Centre). This Winnipeg tour will take you past magnificent architectural styles and historic buildings from the city’s past. Often referred to as “little Chicago”, the Exchange District is significant for its place in the early commodities trade, due to Manitoba’s position as the central “gateway” through which commercial goods passed from East to West. Sites along this walk include Winnipeg’s towering skyscrapers, many venues housing the city's nightlife, City Hall, the Old Market Square, the Centennial Concert Hall, the Manitoba Museum and the Planetarium and Science Gallery.
Exchange District Walking Tour
Specialty theme tours are offered June through to September long-weekend, weather permitting, Monday – Sunday, at 10 am and 2 pm. Tours are approximately 1.5 hours in duration. Admission charged. To book a group tour or for further information contact 1-(204)-942-6716. See the Exchange District brochure, found at the Explore Manitoba Centre for information about this area.
Muddy Waters Tours
Operating from June to the end of September, Muddy Waters offers three main Winnipeg itineraries - a 2 hour walk entitled The Boom and Bust of Winnipeg, is offered Mondays. This tour focuses on the era of Winnipeg’s rise in popularity and success between 1874 and 1915.Murder, Mystery & Mayhem is offered Tuesday to Saturday at 7:00pm and lasts approximately 1 hour, 45 minutes. Learn about unsavoury characters, haunted buildings and horrible disasters! Finally, Pestilence, Shamans and Doctors is a 1 and a half hour tour reliving the early medical history of Manitoba. These exciting Winnipeg tours depart from the VIA Rail Station at 123 Main Street. For further information, contact by phone 1-(204)-997-8687 or by e-mail.
Mural Walking Tours
The West End Biz presents two tours of the vibrant multi-cultural West End area of Winnipeg. There is the Sargent Special and the Ellice Explorer Mural Walking Tours, which take you on an interesting and informative tour of the beautiful murals in the community. The tour guides will also fill you in on fun facts about the community and are more than willing to field any questions you may have. The tours are only $5.00 and include refreshments. Regularly scheduled tours are available from June 13 to August 26, 2006. Special group tours can be arranged by calling (204) 954-7900 or firstname.lastname@example.org. Visit the Explore Manitoba Centre at the Forks for maps of the tour and more information.
Saint Boniface (walking distance)
Bienvenue a Saint Boniface! Welcome to Saint Boniface! One of Winnipeg’s oldest and most historic districts, walking around Saint Boniface is an experience that is both distinct and enjoyable. Visitors may choose to park their vehicles at the Forks National Historic Site and then cross over the Provencher Bridge by foot, entering into Winnipeg’s French community. Proceeding along Tache Avenue, visitors will be greeted by the magnificent Archbishop’s Palace, constructed in 1864 by Bishop Tache. Beside this charming home can be found the majestic Saint Boniface Cathedral. Destroyed by fire, this splendid ecclesiastical structure was rebuilt in 1972 using part of the original building. Be on the lookout for a bright red granite tombstone in the Cathedral’s churchyard. It marks the final resting place of Louis Riel, acknowledged by many to be the founding father of Manitoba and advocate for the Métis/Aboriginal people of Manitoba in 1885. Behind the Cathedral lies the College Universitaire de Saint Boniface, the only francophone post-secondary institute in Manitoba. The Louis Riel statue (which stands beside the college) once stood on the grounds of the Legislative Building. Immediately beside the Cathedral sits the Saint Boniface Museum, occupying the former convent for the Grey Nuns. Built in 1846, this building is the oldest in Winnipeg. Take a stroll through the La Verendrye Park, which commemorates the Sieur de la Verendrye, who founded Fort Rouge in 1738. This fort later became the city of Winnipeg. Across from this park, one may see the Saint Boniface Hospital. Visitors may be interested in Gabrielle Roy’s (famed French-Canadian author) house, located at 375 Deschambault Street. In addition to history, Saint Boniface offers everything for travellers, from quaint restaurants to shops and boutiques. For further details, see Joie de Vivre’s Brochure on Old Saint Boniface: Winnipeg’s French Quarter.